While the site is going through updates you may notice slow downs in page loads and other glitches through out the pages. If something seems to not be working correctly wait a few minutes and try again. If the error persists message taurarious using the forum or email him at Taurarious@threepercenters.org so that he knows an issue exists.

New puppy

Hey guys I just picked up a puppy today. She’s a pitbull husky mix and she’s been breathing rapidly while she sleeps like around 64 breaths per minute. Her chest and belly are also visibly rising and falling with each breath and she’s breathing through her nose. She’s also around 8-10 weeks old give or take. I’m new to raising a puppy and I’m just wondering if that’s normal.

Comments

• Sounds about right, and congratulations on your new addition.
  • Yep. Sounds about right for a pup,

Going to be best friends for life lol. My beagle goes pretty much everywhere with me.

Congrats on your new pup.
  • Good I’m glad it’s a normal thing. We’re already best buddies, she follows me everywhere. I’m going to start doing some basic training for her in a couple weeks when she’s a little older. Her paws are huge so I can already tell she’s gonna be a big dog when she grows up. I’ll see if I can post a pic of her tomorrow some time
  • My male German Shepherd breathes really fast, even while sleeping sometimes and his heartbeat is really hard/fast as well. I think that sounds normal, but my wife is a vet tech and she says that sounds a little too fast breathing. Could you be off a bit in your estimate? My Shepherd is 130 pounds , I think the smallest the critter the faster the heartbeat/breathing. How much does your pup weigh?
  • It could be off so I’ll check again to be sure. She weighs around 15 pounds. I also set an appointment for her to see the vet next week so we’ll see what the vet says too.
  • edited January 12